10年十大最佳3D照片应用程序

随着对2020D Photo应用程序的需求持续增长,看起来3年将成为“ 3D年”。 作为响应,开发人员发布了一系列3D应用程序,其中一些在通过社交媒体(例如Facebook)或在自己的应用程序中创建和共享3D照片方面比其他应用程序更成功。

跳至特定应用

纸板照相机LucidPix相机3D费瑟3D效果电影3D视差流行音乐聚光灯OmniVirt比较表

为了对10年排名前3位的最佳2020D照片iPhone和Android应用程序进行高级别审查,我们将重点关注这些应用程序本身的功能,而无需3D眼镜,VR耳机和其他外围设备的外部帮助。 过滤器,框架和其他功能将被忽略,因为我们将重点放在此帖子的3D捕获和显示质量上。 为了平整运动场,我们将使用相同的频繁使用的棒球来捕获和查看生成的3D照片。 应用未按特定顺序列出。

3年顶级2020D照片应用程序

这是3年可用的最佳2020D照片应用程序的列表

纸板照相机

Google的Cardboard Camera是针对“使用虚拟现实(VR)照片捕获并分享时刻。”它使您仅用一台摄像机即可捕获要在AR或3D模式下查看的空间,并且在此任务上表现出色。 不幸的是,在3D模式下捕获对象时效果不佳。

要从三个维度捕获测试棒球,系统会要求您从左到右(并且仅从左到右)缓慢平移相机,这与在库存相机应用中拍摄全景照片的方式类似。 平移时请注意不要太快,因为如果您移动太快,该应用程序会要求您重新捕获图像。 您还希望避免围绕对象旋转相机。 尝试一次只向一个方向移动。

生成的图像可以通过多种方式提供给您,包括标准的2D全景图像(例如您的手机已经可以拍摄到的图像),或作为将VR耳机格式化后的立体图像,您可以将手机放入手机中,然后放在脸上。

纸板相机样本输出

如果要在不使用任何附加组件的情况下查看手机上的输出,则Cardboard Camera不能做得很好。 棒球显示为平面2D图像,该图像有些变形并且完全静止。 没有明显的3D效果,并且在空间中移动手机不会导致图像改变。

纸板相机要求访问我的照片和麦克风,但没有要求访问我的位置。 没有嵌入式广告。


LucidPix – 3D照片创建器

LucidPix,它仍是处于测试阶段的新应用,其独特之处在于它的设计目的是不需要您以特定方式移动手机来捕获图像,也不需要任何特殊的附件,甚至不需要相机手机,以捕获和查看LucidPix创建的3D照片。 您只需照常拍照即可,LucidPix使用高级AI将2D图像转换为三维。

在LucidPix中捕获图像有多种方法。 最简单的方法是使用手机的内置相机应用程序照常拍摄照片。 但是,您可以使用任何相机应用程序进行捕捉,并应用滤镜以创建完美的外观。

遇到3D效果很好的照片后,打开LucidPix,滑到3D转换,然后从相机胶卷中选择照片。 另外,您可以通过简单的指向并从应用程序中捕获照片并进行拍摄设置。 最好的部分是,您无需移动相机即可进行拍摄。 只是指向和射击。

经过短暂的处理等待后,可以使用生成的3D照片。 在我们的情况下,它使照片在手机上以三个尺寸显示时效果最佳。 图像清晰,机芯确实增加了3D效果,实际上是您希望与社交媒体上的朋友分享的东西。 没有其他3D照片应用程序能够产生如此高质量的输出,包括那些使用专门的深度传感器或多个摄像机的输出。

LucidPix 3D照片可导出为本地Facebook 3D照片,动画GIF和MP4视频。 这三个选项可让您快速轻松地共享 Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, 的TikTok, 信使, iMessage的, WhatsApp, 微信公众平台, LINE …基本上在任何地方。

LucidPix没有嵌入式广告,没有尝试访问蓝牙,没有尝试访问我的位置,也没有尝试通过GPS跟踪用户。 确实需要像大多数相机应用程序一样访问我的相机胶卷和相机。 它可以说是可用的顶级3D照片应用程序之一。


Camera 3D Pro

Camera 3D Pro与Cardboard Camera相似,它需要您在空间中移动手机以生成3D信息。 但是,与Cardboard Camera不同,Camera 3D具有较大的学习曲线。 即使作为经验丰富的应用程序用户和3D爱好者,也尚不清楚如何成功捕获对象。

按照应用程序的指示尝试按快门按钮并向我“拉动相机”失败后,我点击了闪烁的帮助! 按钮。 产生的视频花了几块手表来了解需要做什么,但我最终弄清楚了。 该应用程序希望您按住快门按钮并将手机向侧面移动,同时不要让按住快门按钮的手指向下移动。 听起来很困难,而且绝对可以使照片捕获成为一项双手工作。 尝试捕获时该应用程序反复崩溃并无济于事,尽管被授予访问权限,但该应用程序经常拒绝显示相机的视图,这无济于事。

Camera 3D Pro通过4种方式输出捕获:立体声,3D彩色,3d单色,摆动和常规。 前三个选项要求您拥有VR耳机或3D眼镜。 摆动只是在两幅图像之间切换,类似于当您一次在一只眼睛之间闭合时快速切换时的外观,一幅图像与另一幅图像之间的角度变化很小。 常规仅显示静态2D图像。 如果要分享结果,则必须进行应用内购买。 不幸的是,每次我尝试使用解锁功能时该应用程序都崩溃了,因此无法进行详细说明。

Camera 3D Pro会投放嵌入式广告,请求您的位置并需要访问相机和照片。 它不会嵌入广告或尝试访问蓝牙。


费瑟

Fyuse是一款精美的应用程序,擅长于创建“交互式全景图”。 我们说交互式全景图,因为该应用程序实际上并不创建3D图像,它使您可以通过移动手机与视频全景图进行交互。 想想全景摆动。 启动后,您会看到一个令人印象深刻的交互式交互式画廊,其中包含用户提交的全景图,这些全景图随着您的手机从左向右移动而移动。

为了捕获3D对象,需要点击它,然后Fyuse在该对象上绘制一些相连的红点,并在移动手机进行捕获时为您提供一条直线。 以棒球为例,将其轻拍一下,然后将我的手机旋转到一边,试图将我的红线保持在白色导板上。

产生的输出在给出深度错觉方面做得还不错,但并不能完全跨越3D领域。 我们简直无法摆脱它看起来像是通过移动手机播放的视频。

除了与使用该应用程序的其他人共享外,Fyuse还允许您从该应用程序内在Facebook,Instagram和Twitter上共享。 但是,我们无法使用此功能。 轻按社交网络的图标可让您授予对该应用程序的访问权限,但没有任何帮助。

Fyuse请求访问您的位置,您的相机和照片。 它没有广告,也没有尝试访问蓝牙或麦克风。


3D照片效果–小故障编辑器

此应用专注于创建“小故障照片”和“小故障视频”。

在我们有机会测试该应用程序之前,它弹出了一个屏幕,要求您支付订阅费用。 花了一些时间才意识到可以通过点击屏幕顶部的小X来消除它。 然后,在关闭订阅弹出窗口之后,尽管我们有千兆位的互联网连接,但我们还是被全屏广告打压,卡住了。 一旦解决了这个问题,我们就可以测试该应用了。

3D照片效果可创建“老式” 3D照片,必须像我们在3年代使用的那样,通过红色/蓝色1950D浮雕眼镜观看它们。 它可以捕获应用程序内或使用其他位置捕获的照片,例如内置相机应用程序。 然后,用户可以选择使用哪种类型的3D效果,或添加毛刺效果。

由于我们自3年代以来就没有拥有过红色/蓝色立体浮雕1980D眼镜,因此我们无法说出3D效果的质量,但是图像看起来确实具有最小的失真,除非您故意添加一些带有毛刺效果的图像。

该应用程序允许您通过电子邮件,Facebook,Whatsapp和Instagram共享为静态图像。 除了标准的相机和照片访问权限外,3D效果器还要求访问蓝牙。 它不请求位置或麦克风访问。

3D照片效果样本输出

电影3D

FILM3D创建摆动图图像,用户可以使用多种过滤器对其进行自定义。 与其他摆动一样,结果不会从屏幕上弹出,但确实会给图像带来轻微的3D效果。 启动后,该应用将立即置于捕获模式。

捕获过程非常快,只需一秒钟左右。 点击快门按钮后,您必须从左向右快速移动手机。 然后,该应用会处理视频并显示结果摆动图。

所产生的输出是清晰且高质量的。 如前所述,此处的3D效果极小。 FILM3D允许用户将结果以GIF或MP4格式保存到相机胶卷,或直接保存到Instagram。

除了访问摄像机外,FILM3D还请求访问您的位置。 它不会显示广告或请求访问蓝牙或麦克风。


视差:3D照片实时摄像头

启动Parallax:3D Photo Live Camera后,您会立即被要求订阅该应用程序打中。 似乎您甚至必须付费才能尝试使用该应用程序,但是,如果您点击屏幕顶部的小X,则订阅弹出窗口消失了。 关闭弹出窗口后,将显示该应用程序的3D捕获过程的一些示例,该过程本质上是一个摆动图。

视差:3D Photo Live Camera的捕获过程在屏幕上绕着对象移动/旋转时,会指示您在屏幕上显示一个小+,使其保持在同一位置。 说起来容易做起来难,因为我们很难将+保持在棒球的同一位置。

输出非常类似于FILM3D的输出。 您只需获得一个多图像摆动图。 您可以将结果共享到Instagram,也可以使用内置消息传递应用程序将其作为消息共享。

视差要求访问您的照片和相机。 它不会显示广告,也不会请求位置,麦克风或蓝牙访问权限。


流行音乐

PopPic是一款应用程序,尝试从图像中推断3D数据以在手机上显示3D照片。 我们说的是尝试,因为它使用的系统无法在我们的测试中获得清​​晰的3D照片。 启动后,您将立即进入捕获模式,并准备拍摄下一张3D照片。

与LucidPix一样,拍摄也很容易,只需将相机对准拍摄对象并按下快门按钮,就无需在空间中四处移动手机即可拍摄照片。 但是,与LucidPix不同,PopPic要求您拥有多相机手机(例如iPhone X或更高版本)才能拍摄3D照片。 选择不花1000美元以上在手机上的用户很可能无法使用此应用。

棒球的输出令人失望,应用程序看不到球,而是该应用程序创建了一个带有许多不同侧面的添加形状的对象。 虽然我们确定该应用程序在这里尝试了最好的方法,但它无法像从LucidPix这样的类似应用程序中获得的质量一样产生高质量的输出。 可以在PopPic网站上以视频形式共享生成的3D图像,或者以2D照片形式将其文本发送/保存到相机胶卷中。

PopPic要求您的相机和照片具有标准访问权限。 它不要求提供位置,蓝牙或麦克风访问权限,也不提供广告。


聚光灯

这是一个简洁的应用程序,它使用3D数据修改照片的景深并添加照明效果。 (还有很多不属于本评论的范围。)启动后,您可以立即与Focos拍照。

拍摄非常容易,只需要像普通相机一样对准并拍摄即可。 值得一提的是,如果您想使用该应用程序的任何3D功能,则必须拥有一部带有双(或更多)镜头的手机,并使用变焦镜头拍照,或者允许其AI推断深度。

该应用程序不会输出为3D照片,这很好。 这似乎不是该应用程序的目标。 如上所述,此应用程序提供了许多我们没有讨论过的功能,并且功能同样强大且复杂。

Focos要求提供蓝牙访问权限,以及标准的相机和照片胶卷访问权限。 它不投放广告,也不要求提供位置数据或麦克风访问权限。


最佳3D照片应用的荣誉提名:OmniVirt

即使没有本机智能手机应用程序,OmniVirt还是值得一提,因为它通常在将平面2D照片转换为深度增强3D照片方面表现出色。 实际上,此博客文章的灵感来自于他们 2019年3D Photo应用程序回顾.

其简单的Web界面提示您开始一个三步过程。 1)选择要转换的2D照片,然后2)您上传自己的深度图,或使用其“预测”功能制作基于AI的照片。 最后,步骤3)在下载,解压缩然后手动上传到Facebook或在其他地方使用的zip文件中为您提供生成的RGB图像和深度图。

在这种情况下,OmniVirt在制作主题棒球3D方面做得并不出色。 结果与PopPic相似,只是形状不正确的对象不像球体。

鉴于这是一个网页而不是一个应用程序,因此除了下载/上传权限外,您无需提供其他任何内容。 但是,值得注意的是OmniVirt的主要业务是广告。 他们通过出售广告赚钱,并在其隐私权政策中声明“可以”使用您的位置和其他个人数据。 更重要的是,它们会将Cookie放置在您的设备上以进行跟踪和广告投放。


3D照片的未来一片光明

很高兴看到3D照片捕获,共享和显示方面的应用市场正在增长。 一直有越来越多的应用发布,并且上面列出的应用很可能会使用新功能和更好的3D结果进行更新。

我们错过了您最喜欢的3D应用程序吗? 如果是这样,请在下面发表评论,并告诉我们。

顶级3D照片应用程序比较表

应用程序名称指向并拍摄?捕捉质量3D显示隐私权/广告
纸板照相机否。在捕获过程中必须移动手机。一般否。需要VR耳机。标准通道+麦克风
LucidPix高于平均水平标准访问
相机3D否。在捕获过程中必须移动手机。低于平均值否。需要VR耳机。标准访问权限+位置数据,包括广告
费瑟否。在捕获过程中必须移动手机。一般否。显示动画摆动图。标准权限+位置
3D效果是的。高于平均水平否。需要特殊的眼镜。标准访问+蓝牙
电影3D否。在捕获过程中必须移动手机。一般否。显示动画摆动图。标准访问权限+位置数据
视差否。在捕获过程中必须移动手机。一般否。显示动画摆动图。标准访问
流行音乐低于平均值标准访问
聚光灯高于平均水平标准访问+蓝牙
OmniVirt不适用(无法拍摄照片)不适用(无法拍摄照片)由广告公司运营。

The 10 Best 3D Photo Apps of 2020

It’s looking like 2020 will become the “year of 3D” as demand for 3D Photo apps continues to grow. In response, developers have released a wave of 3D apps, with some being more successful than others in the creation and sharing of 3D Photos on social media such as Facebook, or within their own app. 

Jump to a specific app

Cardboard CameraLucidPixCamera 3DFyuse3D EffectFILM3DParallaxPopPicFocosOmniVirtComparison Chart

For the purposes of this high level review of the top 10 best 3D photo apps of 2020, we will focus on what the apps themselves can do, without external help from 3D Glasses, VR Headsets and other peripherals. Filters, frames, and other features will be ignored, as we are focusing on 3D capture and display quality for this post. In order to level the playing field, we will feature the same heavily-used baseball for capture and review of the resulting 3D photos. Apps are listed in no particular order.

The Top 3D Photo Apps of 2020

Here’s a list of the best 3D photo apps available in 2020

Cardboard Camera

Google’s Cardboard Camera was made to “capture and share moments with virtual reality (VR) photos.” It allows you to capture spaces for viewing in AR or 3D, with just a single camera, and it excels at this task. Unfortunately, it is less successful when it comes to capturing an object in 3D. 

To capture the test baseball in three dimensions, you are asked to slowly pan your camera from left to right (and only left to right), similar to how you take a panoramic photo in your stock camera app. Be careful not to go too fast when panning, as the app will ask you to re-capture the image if you move too quickly. You also want to avoid rotating your camera around the object. Try and only move in one direction at a time. 

The resulting image is available to you in multiple ways, including a standard 2D panoramic image like your phone can already take, or as a stereoscopic image formatted for a VR headset you would place your phone into, and then on your face. 

Cardboard Camera sample output

When it comes to viewing the output on your phone without any extra add-ons, the Cardboard Camera does not do a great job. The baseball is displayed as a flat, 2D image that is a bit distorted and completely static. There is no 3D effect noticeable, and moving the phone in space does not cause the image to change. 

Cardboard Camera asked to access my photos and microphone, but did not ask to access my location. There were no embedded ads. 


LucidPix

LucidPix, a new app that is still in beta, is unique in the fact that it was designed to not require you to move your phone in a specific manner to capture an image, nor does it require any special add-ons, or even a multi-camera phone to capture and view the 3D Photos LucidPix creates. You just take a photo like you normally would, and LucidPix uses advanced AI to convert the 2D image into three dimensions.

There are multiple ways to capture an image in LucidPix. The easiest is to use your phone’s built-in camera app to take your photos like you normally would. However, you could use any camera app for capture, and apply filters to create the perfect look.

Once you’ve come across a photo that would look great in 3D, you open up LucidPix, slide over to 3D Conversion, and choose the photo from your camera roll. Alternatively, you can capture a photo from within the app with a simple point and shoot setup. The best part is, there’s no need for you to move your camera around to capture. Just point and shoot.


LucidPix created the best 3D Photo of the bunch

The resulting 3D Photo is available after a short processing wait. In our case, it performed the best as making the photo appear in three dimensions on your phone. The image is clear, the movement really adds a 3D effect, and is actually something that you’d want to share with friends on social media. No other 3D photo app was able to produce such a quality output, including those that use specialized depth sensors or multiple cameras.

LucidPix 3D Photos are exportable as native Facebook 3D Photos, animated GIFs and MP4 videos. These three options allow you quick an easy sharing on Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, TikTok, Messenger, iMessage, WhatsApp, WeChat, LINE … basically anywhere. 

LucidPix did not have embedded ads, did not try and access bluetooth, and did not try and access my location, nor did it try and track users via GPS. It did require access to my camera roll and camera, like most camera apps. 


Camera 3D Pro

Camera 3D Pro is similar to Cardboard Camera in that it requires you to move your phone in space to generate 3D information. However, unlike Cardboard Camera, Camera 3D has a larger learning curve. Even as an experienced app user and 3D aficionado, it was not immediately clear how to successfully capture an object. 

After unsuccessfully trying to press the shutter button and “pull camera” towards me as instructed by the app, I tapped on the flashing Help! button. The resulting video took a few watches to understand what needed to be done, but I eventually figured it out. The app wants you to keep the shutter button down and move the phone to the side, while NOT moving the finger holding the shutter button down. It’s as difficult as it sounds, and definitely makes photo capture a two-handed job. It doesn’t help that the app repeatedly crashed when trying to capture, and frequently refused to display the camera’s view despite being granted access. 


Camera 3D capture process

Camera 3D Pro outputs the capture in 4 ways: Stereo, 3D color, 3d mono, Wiggle, and Regular. The first three options require you to have a VR headset or 3D glasses. Wiggle simply flips between two images, similar to how it looks when you quickly switch between closing one eye at a time, with a slight perspective change between one image and the other. Regular just displays a static 2D image. If you want to share the results, you have to make an in-app purchase. Unfortunately, the app crashed every time I tried to use the unlock feature, so I can not elaborate further. 


Camera 3D sample output

Camera 3D Pro serves up embedded ads, requests your location, and needs access to the camera and photos. It does not embed ads or try and access bluetooth. 


Fyuse

Fyuse is a polished app that excels at creating “interactive panoramas.” We say interactive panoramas, as the app doesn’t really create a 3D image, it lets you interact with video panoramas by moving your phone. Think panoramic wigglegram. Upon launch, you are shown an impressive interactive gallery of user-submitted panoramas that move as you move your phone from left to right. 

In order to capture an object in 3D, you are asked to tap on it, at which point Fyuse draws some connected red dots on the object and gives you a line to follow as you move your phone to capture. In the case of the baseball, it was tapped, then my phone was rotated to the side, trying to keep my red line on the white guide. 


Fyuse capture process

The resulting output does an OK job at giving the illusion of depth, but does not quite cross the line into 3D territory. We just can’t get past that it looks like a video that is played back by moving my phone. 

In addition to sharing to others that use the app, Fyuse allows you to share on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter from within the app. However, we could not get this feature to work. Tapping on the social network’s icon allows you to grant access to the app, but nothing comes of it. 

Fyuse requests access to your location, your camera, and your photos. It does not have ads, nor did it try and access bluetooth or the microphone. 


Fyuse sample output


3D Photo Effect – Glitch Editor

This app is focused on creating “Glitch Photos” and “Glitch Videos.” 

Before we had a chance to test out the app, it popped up a screen asking for a subscription payment. It took a few moments to realize that this could be dismissed by taping the small X at the top of the screen. Then, after closing the subscription pop-up, we were hit with a full-screen advertisement the got stuck loading, despite our gigabit internet connection. Once that was out of the way, we were ready to test out the app. 

3D Photo Effect creates “old fashioned” 3D photos that must be viewed through red/blue 3D anaglyphic glasses like we used in the 1950s. It can either capture in-app or use photos captured elsewhere, such as with the built-in camera app. The user then can choose what type of 3D effect to use, or to add a glitch effect. 


3D Effect capture process

As we have not owned a pair of red/blue anaglyphic 3D glasses since the 1980s, we can’t speak to the quality of the 3D effect, but the images do look to have minimal distortion, unless you purposefully add some with the glitch effect. 

The app allows you to share via email, Facebook, Whatsapp, and Instagram as static images. In addition to the standard camera and photo access, 3D Effect requests access to bluetooth. It does not request location or microphone access. 

3D Photo Effect sample output

FILM3D

FILM3D creates wigglegram images that the user can customize with a wide range of filters. As with other wigglegrams, the result does not pop out of the screen, but it does give a slight 3D effect to images. Upon launch, the app is immediately placed in capture mode. 

The capture process is extremely quick, taking just a second or so. Once you tap the shutter button, you must quickly move your phone from left to right. The app then processes the video and displays the resulting wigglegram. 


FILM3D sample output

The resulting output is clear and of high quality. As mentioned earlier, the 3D effect is minimal here. FILM3D allows the user to save the results to the camera roll as a GIF or MP4 or directly to Instagram. 

In addition to camera access, FILM3D requests access to your location. It does not display ads or request access to bluetooth or your microphone.


Parallax: 3D Photo Live Camera

Upon launching Parallax: 3D Photo Live Camera you are immediately hit with a request to subscribe to the app. It seems like you must pay to even try the app, but if you tap the small X at the top of the screen the subscription pop goes away. After you dismiss the pop-up, you are shown some examples of the app’s 3D capture process, which is essentially a wigglegram.

Parallax: 3D Photo Live Camera’s capture process uses a small + on the screen that you are instructed to keep in the same spot, while you move/rotate around the object. This is easier said than done, as we had a difficult time keeping the + on the same spot of the baseball.


Parallax sample output

The output is much like that of FILM3D; you simply get a multi-image wigglegram. You may share the result to Instagram or as a message using your built-in messaging app. 

Parallax requests access to your photos and camera. It does not show ads, nor does it request location, microphone or bluetooth access. 


PopPic

PopPic is an app that attempts to extrapolate 3D data from images to display a 3D photo on your phone. We say attempts, as the system it uses did not result in a clear 3D photo in our testing. Upon launch you are immediately in capture mode, and ready to take your next 3D photo. 

As with LucidPix, capture is easy, just point your camera at the subject and hit the shutter button, you don’t have to move your phone around in space to capture the photo. However, unlike LucidPix, PopPic requires you to have a multiple-camera phone, such as an iPhone X or better, in order to shoot 3D Photos. Users that opted to not spend $1000+ on their phone most likely can not use this app. 


PopPic sample output

The output of the baseball was disappointing, with the app not seeing a sphere, rather the app created an add-shaped object with many different sides. While we’re sure the app tried it’s best here, it just could not produce quality output like you get from similar apps such as LucidPix. Sharing of the resulting 3D image is possible on the PopPic website, as a video, or texted/saved to the camera roll as a 2D photo. 

PopPic asks for the standard access right of your camera and photos. It does not ask for location, bluetooth or microphone access, nor does it serve ads. 


Focos

This is a neat app that uses 3D data to modify the depth of field of your photos, as well as add lighting effects. (And a whole lot more that is outside of the scope of this review.) Upon launch, you are immediately ready to take a photo with Focos. 

Capture is quite easy, only requiring you to point and shoot like a normal camera. It is worth mentioning that, if you want to use any of the 3D features of the app, you must have a phone with dual (or more) lenses and use the zoom lens to take the photo, or allow their AI to extrapolate depth. 


Focos capture process

The app does not output as a 3D photo, which is fine. That does not seem to be the goal of the app. As mentioned above, this app offers a lot more features that we did not discuss, and seems to be equally powerful and complex. 

Focos asks for bluetooth access, along with the standard camera and photo roll access. It does not serve ads, nor does it ask for location data or microphone access. 


Honorable Mention: OmniVirt

OmniVirt is worth a mention, even though there is no native smartphone app, as it usually does an admirable job at converting flat 2D photos into depth-enhanced 3D photos. In fact, this blog post was inspired by their 2019 review of 3D Photo apps.

Their simple web interface prompts you to start a three-step process. 1) Choose a 2D photo for conversion, then 2) you either upload your own depth map, or use their “Predict” feature to make one based off AI. Finally, step 3) gives you the resulting RGB image and Depth Map in a zip file you download, unzip, and then manually upload to Facebook or use elsewhere.  


Omnivert sample output

In this case, OmniVirt did not do a great job of making our subject baseball 3D. The results were similar to PopPic, with a mis-shapen object that does not resemble a sphere. 

Given that this is a web page and not an app, you do not have to give anything but download/upload permission. However, it is worth noting that OmniVirt’s main business is advertising. They make money off of selling ads and state in their privacy policy that they “may” use your location and other personal data. More importantly, they place cookies on your device for tracking and advertising purposes. 


Conclusion

It’s great to see the app market is growing when it comes to 3D Photo capture, sharing and display. More and more apps are released all the time, and the apps listed above will most likely be updated with new features and better 3D results. 

Did we miss your favorite 3D app? If so, please leave a comment below and let us know. 

Comparison Chart

App NamePoint & Shoot Capture?Capture Quality3D DisplayPrivacy/Ads
Cardboard CameraNo. Must move phone during capture.AverageNo. Requires VR headset.Standard access + microphone
LucidPixYesAbove AverageYesStandard access
Camera 3DNo. Must move phone during capture.Below AverageNo. Requires VR headset.Standard access + location data, includes ads
FyuseNo. Must move phone during capture.AverageNo. Displays animated wigglegrams.Standard access + location
3D EffectYes.Above AverageNo. Requires special glasses.Standard access + bluetooth
FILM3DNo. Must move phone during capture.AverageNo. Displays animated wigglegrams.Standard access + location data
ParallaxNo. Must move phone during capture.AverageNo. Displays animated wigglegrams.Standard access
PopPicYesBelow AverageYesStandard access
FocosYesAbove AverageYesStandard access + bluetooth
OmniVirtN/A (Can not capture photos)N/A (Can not capture photos)YesRun by ad company. 
0
Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *